UH Hilo student pharmacists selected in national residency competition first round

March 21, 2018

Student pharmacists from the University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo were “matched” with residency programs in round one of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Matching Program. More students from the Daniel K. Inouye College of Pharmacy (DKICP) have a chance to apply and be placed when the second group of matches is announced after April 12.

Residencies are highly competitive opportunities for Pharm.D. graduates to build on their education in a clinical setting with an experienced mentor. The ASHP Resident Matching Program (the Match) places applicants into pharmacy residency training positions in the United States. The Match includes both postgraduate year one (PGY1) and postgraduate year two (PGY2) pharmacy residencies, and Pharm.D.’s may apply any time after graduation.

Programs with unfilled positions in Phase I of the Match will offer those positions to unmatched applicants in Phase II. To participate in the Match, an applicant must be a graduate of or graduating from an ACPE-accredited college of pharmacy, or otherwise be eligible for licensure.

The Match is administered by National Matching Services Inc. and is sponsored and supervised by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).

Successful applicants and their match institution include:

  • Class of 2018 - Year One Residencies (PGY1): Cierra Gauvin, VA Pacific Islands Health Care System, Honolulu; Kelli Goo, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan-Hawaiʻi, Honolulu; Garret Hino Jr., University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo; Katrina Kutter, Trinity Hospitals, Minot, North Dakota; Jessica Lee, University of Washington Medicine, Seattle, Washington; Nicolette Iew, VA Roseburg Healthcare System, Roseburg, Oregon; Tia Medeiros, Texas Tech University Health Science Center-Abilene, Abilene, Texas; Christopher Nakagawa, VA Puget Sound Health Care System, Seattle, Washington; Maria Ortiz, University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo; Joann Maithy Phan, VA Central California Health Care System, Fresno, Calif.; Lauren Simpson, Banner Health, Phoenix, AZ; Seungyeun Yoo, Arrowhead Regional Medical Center, Colton, Calif.
  • Class of 2017 - Year Two Residencies (PGY2): Mark Allen Bibera, University of California, Davis Medical Center, Davis, Calif; Mari Louise Cid, VA San Diego Healthcare System, San Diego, Calif; Christopher Diaz, Stanford Health Care, Stanford, Calif.
  • Class of 2015 (PGY1-Psychiatric): Edwina Leung, Barnabas Health Behavioral Health Center, Toms River, NJ

See more news from 2018.