Student awards presented at end-of-year gathering

June 20, 2022

From left: Josephine Lui, Judhea Campollo, Megan Woolsey, Kateleen Caye Bio, Analeslie Martinez, Ola Gbadebo, Daijiro Oshitari

Students, faculty and staff came together for this year's DKICP spring awards ceremony, held Wednesday, May 4th. Scholarships and awards were presented to 51 students. Also named were the 2022 Preceptor of the Year, Dr. Corey Lehano, owner of Mauliola Pharmacy, Wailuku, Maui; and the Faculty Preceptor of the Year, Dr. Aryn Meguro, assistant professor at DKICP. This year's student awards and scholarship winners include:

Pharmacy Curriculum Outcomes Assessment Highest Achievement: Matthew Neumann had the highest score in the DKICP Class of 2023 and scored in the 92nd percentile, nationally.

USPHS Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Practice Award: Alyson Soranaka

Student Organization of the Year: Delta Lambda Chapter of Phi Lambda Sigma (pharmacy leadership society)

Kahele Student Leader of the Year: Rosalie White

DKICP Merit Scholarship Awards

Class of 2023: Jasmin Curiel, Emily Tu Le, Kalen Niimi and Sung Mi Yoon

Class of 2024: Carly Bell, Corey Duenas, Cheyenne Garretson, Molly Moran, Jeff Michael Regalario and Daniella Wallace

Class of 2025: Nohelis Agosto Vega, Vincent Tran, Cierra Fujimoto, Anaiz Ramirez, Alyssa Kam and Akiho Uno

UH Hilo College of Pharmacy Inaugural Class of 2011 Scholarship: Stephanie Mojumdar

UH Hilo College of Pharmacy Alumni Association Scholarships: Kallen Kobayashi and Daniella Wallace

CVS Health Foundation Pharmacy School Scholarships: Crystal Beardsley and Sueun Suh

Elwin & Valerie Goo Endowed Excellence Scholarships: James Santoki and Kalen Niimi

Grace Mizuko Miyawaki Pharmacy Scholarship: Cierralyn Cabral

Haga Family Endowed Scholarship: Kiera Javillonar

Hawaii Independent Pharmacies, Inc. Endowed Excellence Scholarships: Rosalie White, Teva Kealoha Meyer, Logan Acebo and Elyssa Ball

Edwin and Georgiana Kam Endowed Excellence Scholarship: Cierra Fujimoto

Molokai Drugs, Inc. Scholarships: Megan Woolsey and Alyssa Kam

Mr. Nagakatsu Kumao Otsuka and Dr. Raymond Masashi Otsuka Memorial Scholarship: Daijiro Oshitari

Albertsons Safeway Pharmacy Scholarship: Olatunji Gbadebo

Walgreens Diversity and Inclusion Scholarship: Chrystal Cardoza

Walgreens Multilingual Scholarship: Leila Chee

John M. and Mimi F. Pezzuto Excellence Scholarships: Matthew Neumann and Rosalie White

Class Ambassadors were recognized for all of their contributions in representing the school to prospective students and the community. They include:

Class of 2023: Kateleen Caye Bio, Analeslie Martinez, Daijiro Oshitari and Debra Towell

Class of 2024: Judhea Campollo, Ola Gbadebo, Josephine Lui and Megan Woolsey

UH Hilo Student Association senators: Roanne Deabler, graduate senator; and Nadra Nour, senator at large

Student Choice Awards for Teaching.

Class of 2025
Pharmacy Science: Dr. Dianqing Sun
Pharmacy Practice: Dr. Aryn Meguro and Dr. Supakit Wongwiwatthananukit

Class of 2024
Pharmacy Science: Dr. Dianqing Sun
Pharmacy Practice: Dr. Bryce Fukunaga

Class of 2023
Pharmacy Science: Dr. Shugeng Cao
Pharmacy Practice: Dr. Chad Kawakami

See more news from 2022.