Student and faculty awards presented in online program

May 14, 2021

For the second year, the DKICP spring awards ceremony was conducted online, with awards and scholarships presented to 67 students and faculty. Also announced was the 2021 Preceptor of the Year, Dr. James Montague, a 2014 DKICP alumni who has precepts Ambulatory Care APPE rotations at the Sinfonia Medication Management Center in Tucson, Ariz. The Faculty Preceptor of the Year is Dr. Camlyn Masuda, assistant specialist at DKICP.

This year’s student award and scholarship winners include:

  • Pharmacy Curriculum Outcomes Assessment Highest Achievement: Brian Petrone had the highest score in the DKICP Class of 2022 and scored in the 97th percentile, nationally.
  • USPHS Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Practice Award: Paige Cajudoy
  • NCPA Outstanding Student Member of the Year: Mindy Kim
  • APhA-ASP Senior Recognition Certificate: Karen Pae
  • Viatris Excellence in Pharmacy Award: Taylor Hiraga
  • Student Organization of the Year: Delta Lambda Chapter of Phi Lambda Sigma (pharmacy leadership society)
  • Kahele Student Leader of the Year: Patricia Stevens
  • DKICP Merit Scholarship Awards
    • Class of 2022: Alysha Cosier, Tran Dinh, Ashley Fukuchi, Leia Hasegawa, Brian Petrone, Donald Sachs and Melanie Sacro
    • Class of 2023: Jasmin Curiel, Emily Tu Le, Kalen Niimi and Sung Mi Yoon
    • Class of 2024: Carly Bell, Corey Duenas, Cheyenne Garretson, Molly Moran, Jeff Michael Regalario and Daniella Wallace
  • UH Hilo College of Pharmacy Alumni Association Scholarships: Analeslie Martinez, Matthew Neumann, Nadra Nour and Daniella Wallace
  • CVS Health Foundation Pharmacy School Scholarships: Tomomi Kohno and Cleighton Lagmay
  • Elwin & Valerie Goo Endowed Excellence Scholarship: Tran Dinh
  • Grace Mizuko Miyawaki Pharmacy Scholarship: Tyler Branco-Hedke
  • Haga Family Endowed Scholarship: Alysha Cosier
  • Hawaii Independent Pharmacies, Inc. Endowed Excellence Scholarships: Roanne Deabler and Rosalie White
  • Edwin and Georgiana Kam Endowed Excellence Scholarship: Kalen Niimi
  • Molokai Drugs, Inc. Scholarships: Teva Kealoha Meyer and Daijiro Oshitari
  • Mr. Nagakatsu Kumao Otsuka and Dr. Raymond Masashi Otsuka Memorial Scholarships: Kendrick Justin Dalmacio and Sasha Nealand (Kovacs)
  • Albertsons Safeway Pharmacy Scholarship: Ashley Fukuchi
  • **Walgreens Diversity and Inclusion Scholarship: **Chrystal Cardoza
  • Walgreens Multilingual Scholarship: Ola Gbadebo
  • John M. and Mimi F. Pezzuto Excellence Scholarships: Danh Nguyen and Yun Soo Park
  • Class Ambassadors were recognized for all of their contributions in representing the school to prospective students and the community. Those students include:
    • Class of 2022: Alysha Cosier, Ashley Fukuchi, Olivia Graham, Andy Lin, Danh Nguyen, Angelyn Park, Janny Phong and Kara Tsuzaki
    • Class of 2023: Kateleen Caye Bio, Analeslie Martinez and Daijiro Oshitari
  • UH Hilo Student Association senators: Roanne Deabler, UHHSA executive senator; Mercedes Dennis, DKICP senator; and Nadra Nour, senator at large
  • This year’s faculty award winners include the Student Choice Awards for Teaching.
    • Class of 2024:
      • Pharmaceutical Sciences: Dr. Abhijit Date
      • Pharmacy Practice: Dr. Supakit Wongwiwatthananukit
    • Class of 2023:
      • Pharmaceutical Sciences: Dr. Dianqing Sun
      • Pharmacy Practice: Dr. Bryce Fukunaga
    • Class of 2022:
      • Pharmaceutical Sciences: Dr. Daniela Guendisch
      • Pharmacy Practice: Dr. Faith Hicks

See more news from 2021.