Three From DKICP Receive State Honors

Hawaii Pharmacist Association

Hawaii Pharmacist Association

The Hawaiʻi Pharmacists Association recently presented three members of the DKICP ohana with HPHA annual awards. Dr. Jarred Prudencio, assistant professor in Pharmacy Practice, received the Young Pharmacist award. Christina Method, clinical education support specialist, was honored with the Pharmacy Technician of the Year award. Dr. Sheri Tokumaru, associate professor and director of interprofessional education, received the Pharmacist of the Year award.

Dr. Jarred Prudencio

Prudencio practices as an ambulatory care clinical pharmacist at the Hawaiʻi Island Family Health Center in Hilo, as well as teaches at DKICP. One example of his innovation and creativity is his use of social media, including an Instagram account that features clinical pharmacy pearls, summaries of guidelines, biostatistics reviews and medication counseling points. His account has garnered more than 15,000 followers.

Christina Method

Method has been instrumental in coordinating student experiential sites in view of the COVID-19 pandemic, working with retail, hospitals and clinics, and ensuring all safety requirements are met.

Dr. Sheri Tokumaru

Tokumaru works to implement and advance interprofessional education in conjunction with medicine, nursing, public health and social work education programs at the University of Hawaiʻi. She also manages pharmacy IPPE and APPE experiential education at The Queen’s Medical Center, where she practices in the Neruoscience Intensive Care Unit.