DKICP student awards presented in online ceremony

DKICP Banner

Faculty and staff of the Daniel K. Inouye College of Pharmacy gathered virtually with students recently in an online version of the annual end-of-schoolyear awards ceremony. Along with the presentation of many awards and scholarships, everyone enjoyed a slideshow recapping highlights of the many student activities that took place earlier in the year.

“While this has been a challenging spring semester for students, making the transition to all online classes and dealing with the stresses brought on by the pandemic, they have continued to work hard and perform well,” noted Dean Carolyn Ma. “Their achievements in the face of adversity speak well for their potential accomplishments and contributions to the pharmacy profession.”

The following student awards were announced:

Pharmacy Curriculum Outcomes Assessment Highest Test Score: Qixin (Sandy) Li

Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Award: Josephine McDonald

Mylan Pharmaceuticals Excellence in Pharmacy Award: Stacey Nguyen

American Pharmacists Association Senior Recognition Certificate: Gregg Tam

NCPA Outstanding Student Member of the Year: Brittany Luna

Kahele Student Leader of the Year: Clifford Agcaoili

UH Hilo DKICP Alumni Association Scholarship: Kalen Niimi

Aloha Shoyu Pharmacy Scholarship: Katrina Jardine and Trisha Nobriga

CVS Health Foundation Pharmacy School Scholarship: Nina Cardoza, Tran Dinh and Daijiro Oshitari

Elwin & Valerie Goo Endowed Excellence Scholarship: Yun Soo Park

Grace Mizuko Miyawaki Pharmacy Scholarship: Travis Hirayama

Haga Family Endowed Scholarship: Tyler Branco-Hedke

Hawaii Independent Pharmacies, Inc. Endowed Excellence Scholarship: Roanne Deabler and Cleighton Lagmay

Edwin and Georgiana Kam Endowed Excellence Scholarship: Ashley Fukuchi

Molokai Drugs, Inc. Scholarship: Kendrick Justin Dalmacio and Matthew Neumann

Mr. Nagakatsu Kumao Otsuka and Dr. Raymond Masashi Otsuka Memorial Scholarship: John Jacob and Sasha Nealand

Albertsons Safeway Pharmacy Scholarship: Alysha Cosier

Walgreens Diversity and Inclusion Scholarship: Nadra Nour

Walgreens Multilingual Scholarship: Danh Ronald Nguyen

John M. and Mimi F. Pezzuto Excellence Scholarship: Qixin (Sandy) Li, Duy Nguyen and Henry Quach

DKICP Merit Award recipients included:

Class of 2021
Sean Domingo
Qixin (Sandy) Li
Brittany Luna
Jaymee-Rae Pang
Johnson Siu
Donald Waddell

Class of 2022
Alysha Cosier
Tran Dinh
Ashley Fukuchi
Leia Hasegawa
Brian Petrone
Donald Sachs
Melanie Sacro

Class of 2023
Selin Cross
Jasmine Curiel
Emily Tu Le
Kalen Niimi
Sung Mi Yoon

Student Organization of the Year: Hawaii Student Society of Health Systems Pharmacy and Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy