Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

UH Hilo - DKICP Home > Faculty & Staff

Linda Connelly, Ph.D.
Linda Connelly

Associate Professor - Pharmaceutical Sciences

As they grow, cancer cells can develop the ability to move around the body and grow in other organs – this process is called metastasis. Once metastasis occurs then cancer becomes much more difficult to treat and the patient is more likely to die from the disease. The focus in my lab is on breast cancer and trying to gain a better understanding of the signaling that leads to metastasis of breast cancer. We are currently investigating the role of the protein Osteoprotegerin (OPG) in breast cancer metastasis. We are also interested in the role of inflammation in breast cancer, particularly macrophage signaling.


  • BSc (Hons), First Class, Biochemistry with work placement, University of Glasgow, UK
  • Ph.D., Molecular Pharmacology, Wolfson Institute for Biomedical Research, University College London, UK
  • Postdoctoral Fellow in the Dept. of Medical and Molecular Pharmacology, UCLA and the Dept. of Cancer Biology, Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Classes and Courses

  • IS 201 Pre Pharmacy Orientation
  • PHPS 540 Drug Action I
  • PHPS 509 Pathophysiology
  • PHPP 515 Integrated Therapeutics I
  • PHPS 703 Cancer Biology

Selected Presentations and/or Publications

  • Molecular Cancer, 2015, 14:117
  • Cancer Research, 2015, 75(8):1624-34
  • Cancer Medicine, 2014, 3(5): 1112-25
  • Breast Cancer Research, 2011, 13(4):R83
  • Oncogene, 2011, 30(12): 1402-12
  • Cancer Research, 2008, 68(16): 6762-6769
  • PNAS, 2007, 104 (47): 18514-9

Active Grants

  • AREA R15 (NIH/NCI)
  • Ingeborg v.F. McKee Fund of the Hawaii Community Foundation
  • INBRE III Junior Investigator

Awards and Honors

  • Davidson Prize for Biochemistry, 1998
  • Wellcome International Prize Travelling Research Fellowship, 2002-2005
  • Minority-Serving Institution Faculty Scholar in Cancer Research, 2010
  • Excellence in teaching award for Pharmaceutical Sciences, 2010
  • Excellence in teaching award for Pharmaceutical Sciences, 2012
  • Excellence in teaching award for Pharmaceutical Sciences, 2014
  • Excellence in teaching award for Pharmaceutical Sciences, 2015