Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

UH Hilo - DKICP Home > Faculty & Staff

Eugene A. Konorev, Ph.D. Eugene A. Konorev

Assistant Professor

Eugene A. Konorev studies mechanisms of apoptosis in cardiomyocytes and endothelial cells as underlying factors in the development of cardiomyopathies and heart failure. Dr. Konorev has been studying mechanisms of ischemia-induced cardiac injury and cardiovascular complications of anti-cancer therapy using cellular and animal models. Konorev's lab is currently studying the mechanisms of new vessel formation, or angiogenesis, in the settings of cardiac diseases and tumor growth, with the goals of optimizing anticancer therapy, inhibiting tumor growth, and preventing/delaying the development of cardiac disease conditions. His lab seeks to identify novel natural and synthetic compounds that will modulate the formation of new vascular networks.


  • M.D., Kursk Medical University, Russia
  • Ph.D., Pharmacology, Kursk Medical University, Russia

Classes and Courses

  • Introduction to Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Pathophysiology
  • Integrated Therapeutics 1 (Pharmacology component)
  • Integrated Therapeutics 2 (Pharmacology component)

Selected Presentations and/or Publications

  • Free Rad Biol Med. 45, 1723-1728 (2008)
  • Biochem. J. 389, 527-539 (2005)
  • J. Biol. Chem. 279, 25535-25543 (2004)
  • Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 100, 3125-3130 (2003)
  • Free. Rad. Biol. Med. 33, 988-997 (2002)
  • Am. J. Physiol. Heart Circ. Physiol. 279, H2424-H2430 (2000)
  • J. Biol. Chem. 275, 33585-33592 (2000)
  • Free Rad. Biol. Med. 28, 1671-1678 (2000)

Active Grants

  • University of Hawaii INBRE project, NCRR, NIH

Awards and Honors

  • Honor Student, Kursk Medical University, 1983
  • Award for Young Investigators, USSR Congress of Internists, Tashkent, 1988
  • Travel Award for Young Investigators, XIV World Congress of International Society for Heart Research, Kobe, Japan, 1992
  • Travel Award from the Research Corporation of University of Hawaii, Experimental Biology Meeting, 2010
  • Excellence in Teaching Award in Pharmaceutical Sciences for Academic Year 2009/2010